Delimit My Life

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing" ~ Hellen Keller

Day 6 Cold Shower plus Mini Challenge

Yesterday, I made my first attempt at a meatless Monday. I have wanted to go meatless for quite awhile, not for any particular reason, but just to see if I could do it. I usually feel super hungry and eventually give into my cravings. So I thought of it as a mini challenge, which in the future, I would like to increase to more than a day but everyone has to start out somewhere. My issue is that I constantly forget to not eat any meat.

Throughout my day, I had some peanut butter toast for breakfast, then some white rice with black beans for lunch, and a delicious vegan pizza for dinner, vegan because of my allergies. I was extremely excited that I had gone a day without meat for the first time but sadly one small detail dawned on me. After lunch, my brother was having some stir fry, which I had made the day before, and without even thinking about it I ate one strip of meat. A rather disappointing fact to remember at the end of the day, but my subconscious wanted kept me honest. I am definitely going to attempt it again next Monday and learn from this experience.

Today, I used the guest bathroom for a little change in scenery. I normally stay away from this particular shower because its height, which is about five feet tall, is about a foot lower than my head. Consequently, I either end up bowing to the shower gods or completing a home workout because I have to squat half the time. It definitely adds a level of discomfort to my overall experience. Then add some freezing cold water into the mix and the resulting shower experience is quite interesting. The shower was surprising colder today and I couldn’t completely get used to the feeling. I kept letting out small gasps as my body shivered uncontrollably. At the beginning of this challenge, I kept thinking that the cold showers would become easy, like a hot shower, and that I would ultimately have no issues with them in the future. However, I am reminded each day that the water will always be icy cold and therefore slightly uncomfortable.

Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new. ~ Albert Einstein

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Thought

