Delimit My Life

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing" ~ Hellen Keller

Day 5 Freaking Cold Shower

From time to time, I like most have my ups and downs. Life progresses at a leisurely pace and then suddenly it gets unbearable with no moment to breathe. This common theme, share by most about life, can be applied to my challenge. Some days the water is quite enjoyable and a refreshing start to the day. While other days the water feels horrible, even insufferable, and the unpleasantness of the entire situation makes me never want to go through it again. However, the water never changed, it was always cold, but something else had to have. If you look around the world, it doesn’t change, it is just a relentless machine moving forward where the strongest survive. Similarly, the shower stays constant, its temperature does not falter, and it is how I perceived it that changed it in my mind. It is the stressors add by life which weigh us down, altering our view. Therefore, it is the individuals’ choice to choose how to view the events of life.

It’s been a few days since my flight and I am still adjusting to the new time zone. The cold showers really help wake me up in the morning. Today, I turned on the water and tested the temperature like normal. It almost felt warm, and I thought well this is going to be easy but then suddenly the temperature dropped. I mean the water felt freaking cold and I actually hesitated in getting in. The same old thoughts began running through my head telling me that this was a crazy idea. I froze for a second while a shiver ran down my back. One thing I have been learning is how to shut those thoughts off and just hop in. Understanding that the discomfort is short lived, like most parts of my life, and that I will eventually adjust to it.

Who is the happier man, he who has braved the storm of life and lived or he who has stayed securely on shore and merely existed? ~ Hunter S. Thompson

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Thought

