Delimit My Life

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing" ~ Hellen Keller

Day 2 A 4am Cold Shower

I had a very early flight today so I had to get up at 3:30am. Not that it’s hard getting up early but in no way does the idea of taking a cold shower sound pleasant. As far as I am concerned, if you have to wake up early then you shouldn’t have to freeze to death. Still, I accepted the challenge so I will see it through, even at 4am.

The shower seemed surprisingly colder than it was the day before. My body started shivering almost immediately, and I had to really focus on breathing normally. A nice benefit, if you could call it that, because there is probably nothing better than an icy shower to shock you to life at 4am. It gives you a feeling of strength and vigor, not physical but mental, that just can’t be equaled.

I started sharing my challenge with a few friends and their reactions could easily be identified as hysterical, even borderline defensive. Basically, they couldn’t understand why I would do this in the first place. They of course love hot showers and were willing to defend this stance to their grave. To them, the idea of a cold shower is plain crazy. Although, isn’t that the whole point to do something that most people wouldn’t even consider!

I started Delimit My Life to prove to myself that the impossible is possible and to find the limits that I have placed in my life. I fully understand my friends’ opinions because people tend to fear discomfort. We grow up trying to minimizing any and all discomfort in our lives, but to what end? Slowly our lives become full of limitations and fears which gradually make us dull and complacent. Such a life shuts the door to anything that might be challenging, difficult, or even new. This challenge may seem ridiculous, even pointless, but why not? The best journeys start out by doing something ridiculous and then turn out to change your world.

Nothing is impossible, the word itself says ‘I’m possible’! ~ Audrey Hepburn

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 2 A 4am Cold Shower

  1. I made it my personal challenge (along with a list of 30 other things) this month to discover a new blog/blogger friend each day. Your cold shower topic intrigued me, especially since I could use one for various reasons. Also the fact you are doing it as a challenge – searching “challenge” is how I found you. But I also like the title and premise of your blog -Delimit Life. What a great thing to look to do and something I may consider in the future! Looking forward to following you through the remaining days of your cold shower challenge!

    • That sounds like quite a challenging month, and I hope you complete every personal challenge that you set for yourself. I read your story on your blog which was quite powerful and tragic, and I think I understand better what you meant by various reasons. I hope that you do consider delimiting your life in the future because in my opinion it opens the doors to an unseen world. I wanted to thank you for finding my blog and befriending me. I’m fairly new the blogging world so it’s nice to have a friend.
      Thanks for being my first comment too!

Leave a Thought

