Delimit My Life

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing" ~ Hellen Keller

Day 1 Cold Shower Challenge

Last night, I just laid in bed cycling through thoughts about tomorrow. The internet calls it monkey brain but it just means a long sleepless night to me. I was far too stressed, and a little excited, about that freezing shower. Don’t get me wrong, I have taken cold showers before, but I never actually planned on taking them. Especially for 30 days in a row. Now that I had a plan, my mind was making thousands of excuses. Dude, cold showers suck! Why are you even doing this? You love hot shower, remember how amazing and relaxing they are? You know it’s going to be freezing! Do you really want to be painfully cold? These were just some of the negative thoughts that were bouncing around in my head. It was shocking to realize just how much I feared any sort of discomfort. It’s just a short five minute shower, yet it was making me stressed out and wide awake.

Eventually, I woke up to day 1 of my challenge. The situation was feeling pretty comical as I woke up feeling bone-chilling cold. My body seemed to working right along with my brain informing me that I was already freezing so there was no need for a cold shower. I had to laugh aloud at myself! Still I was pumped up and excited to start the challenge. I set a timer on my phone for five minutes so that I would not cheat. The shower was icy, but I liked the energizing feeling. I rushed through my normal routine, shaking the whole time. Then I would occasionally peak out at my alarm. It felt like forever and I was getting used to the cold feeling. Finally, I just wanted to find out how much time I had left. I found that my alarm had already gone off and had been vibrating for about five minutes. I had forgotten to turn on the sound. Luckily, the cold shower really isn’t that bad after the initial shock.

The whole situation reminded me of a famous quote by Franklin D. Roosevelt, and how its meaning continues to evolve.

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself ~ FDR

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Thought

